h1

M: Mindfulness

April 15, 2017

I’ve been meditating pretty regularly since the start of the year, and one of the things that a guided session really brought into focus for me is mindfulness. The brief was simple – Through the day, count the number of times you go from sitting to standing, or the other way round. Just make a mental note, that’s all, and if you reach a count of 10, then you’re doing fantastic.

My first reaction? That’s interesting, but can’t be that hard. 10 through the day should be easy. In fact, my first count will be when I finish meditating and get up from this chair. And guess what, I completely missed counting it. And didn’t even get close to a count of 10 for the day. 

It’s incredibly amazing how busy the mind always is. Sometimes I do things on autopilot (and I’m sure I’m not the only one) and then I really have to rack my brains to remember if I did it that thing after all. 

So this little exercise above is quite awesome and makes you realise how often (or not) we are truly and a 100% present. How often we mindlessly scroll through our phones, and how hard it is to pay attention to something so mundane 🙂 This simple realisation is, hopefully a step towards more mindfulness. 

2 comments

  1. That is so incredibly simple, and yet so difficult! I’ve tried for the past two days, and my count is a big grand 0! I’m gonna keep at it though!!


    • Gosh, thanks for the reminder. I’ve been meaning to do it again too, and I keep forgetting. Keep at it and tell me how it goes 🙂



Leave a Reply

