h1

H is for Hyderabad

April 10, 2017

Last year’s A-Z challenge also saw me choose H for Hyderabad. And why not this year too?

It’s been over a year since we moved here, and I’m not sure if I know the city and the culture any better than I did last year. Shameful, perhaps, yes. I blame it on the cosmopolitan bubble we live in – we could well be living in Bangalore or any other big city in India. Having said that, I am familiar with a few more parts of the city now. I hope to explore more parts of the Old City this year, revisit the museums and the landmarks that it is famous for, that I last visited over ten years back.

What I do miss sorely here is having company. Family, friends. Like-minded people who also have the time to hang out with me. I’ve made a couple of friends, yes, and I’m glad I have them. But it would be nice to have a few more. For a while last year I did the whole ‘I-love-my-company’ bit and went out to movies alone, cafes alone. But I’m a little bored of that. Even my sketchbook is, perhaps 🙂 It does look like I might have just found a group of people who like to meet up and sketch though, so I hope that happens at least a couple of times a month.

But overall, life in Hyderabad has been very good. It’s been slow. I decided not to go back to a fulltime job just yet. I’m sketching very religiously everyday, have a routine that I’m proud of and hoping to give freelance illustration a good shot. And we found a school for A that we love, and she starts in June. Let’s see how it goes.

Maybe I’ll update soon. Or perhaps when H for Hyderabad happens again next April :p

 

Leave a Reply

