h1

C: Conversations (Part 4?)

April 4, 2017

Long time no conversations post. That doesn’t mean this child of mine is talking any lesser. On the contrary, she’s talking too much and too fast these days for me to keep track. 

We’ve already got the where was I at your wedding question. And then last week, 

‘When you were a baby and Daddy was a baby, I was also a baby, huh?’ 

No Ammu. 

‘Then what was I?’

She was used to hearing tales about how when she was younger, she couldn’t walk or talk. And so,

‘When I was a baby, did I have hands?’

The baby-ness that comes through in some of these conversations is heart-melting. The smart-assedness in some others, not so much. 

The other day, I was chiding her for not saying Hi to the guy who delivers water to our apartment. He seems quite fond of her and always makes it a point to talk to her. Pat came her reply, ‘I didn’t see you saying Hi.’ 

And then, there are times when she goes into paragon of virtue and good manners mode. Usually either following a meal that made her very happy (read cinnamon rolls, cake, banana bread etc) or just as she is about to eat. Last week I made cinnamon rolls and once done, she dutifully washed her hands and then wiped her hands on a towel closest to her. And then, 

‘Can I, please can I dry my hands in your towel?’

‘I’m asking because it’s your towel’

Suuuuuure. 

And the other day, I was looking for a rubberband to tie her hair up, and she pipes up –

‘Don’t put rubberband, it’s not bothering me.’

What’s not, the rubberband?

‘No, my hair is not bothering me’.

I shouldn’t be surprised, but every once in a while, she still does take me by surprise 🙂

Leave a Reply

