h1

U: Uddina Vade

April 25, 2016

Uddina vade/Ulundhu vadai/medu vada. It goes by many names, but it’s that golden brown delicacy from South India. If you were to ask me what I want to eat in my last meal and ask me to choose only three things, this would definitely figure in that list.

Crisp on the outside, and melt-in-your-mouth soft on the inside. Not dripping with oil please. Seasoned with just a hint of green chilli and ginger. Eaten with a nice gatti chutney and sambar (definitely the so-called sweet sambar that Bangalore’s darshinis are famous for). 

Growing up, it was the vade at Janatha hotel in Malleswaram that I first fell in love with. An aunt once got me way too many from Janatha cos she was visiting and she knew I loved them. In college, it was probably the darshini close by and the canteen’s version wasn’t bad either. 

Once I moved to Singapore, I all but stopped ordering them at restaurants. Cos I would get the insipid vadais- hard, not crisp on the outside and nothing like the darshini-style ones.

I haven’t eaten at Janatha Hotel in years, but having lived in South Bangalore for the last five years, I have a new favourite -SN refreshments at JP Nagar. 

And so it had to be that on my current trip to Bangalore, when I found myself in the vicinity, I took A there and we had a couple of them. She seems to like her uddina vade. And I can’t wait to see if she’ll turn out to be the uddina vade snob that I am. 

But she’ll have to stop calling them donuts to start with. 

One comment

  1. I found your blog by chance via your Instagram account and love reading your posts. My grandpa loved to visit SN at JP nagar too! He’d sneak in a Vade sambar every time he’d step out and not bring back any for grandma.

    Ok what a weird story to tell you, but SN ❤



Leave a Reply

