h1

C: Cloth Diapering

April 4, 2016

Now that is a topic close to my heart. Given the amount of Internet research I’ve done, I can safely write a mini-thesis on it, and give plenty of gyaan on it. But hey, I try not to give unsolicited advice — which means I have all this gyaan that needs an outlet, so hellooooo blog post! Muhahaha. (Hey you reader, come baaaack!)

I stumbled upon the whole wide world of (modern) cloth diapers quite by accident. Until A was a little over a month old, I primarily used the Great Indian Old-dhoti Hack. Which basically means it was old, soft cotton cloth squares folded up into triangles and tied around her skinny little bum. Then my sister bought me a few of the thicker muslin triangle nappies (like these) and I loved it. But these sort of nappies always needed a dry-sheet or those plasticky rubber sheets below, and then one layer of cloth on top. And frankly I was getting tired of changing the nappy and the sheets each time she peed or pooped. Which was OMG-TOO-VERY-OFTEN. (Fun fact: in the first two months, our most frequent sentences to A were, ‘Whaaaat, you peed AGAIN?’ Followed by, ‘Whaaaaat, you pooped AGAIN?’  Fun days. And nights. 

Oh the nights. It was beginning to get cumbersome, the changing of nappies every few hours. I wasn’t too keen on starting her off I disposable diapers for long hours at that point either. So I began my earnest research and was delighted to find that there was a middle path between the triangle nappies and the disposable ones. And then began the mind-boggling array of jargon which made me want to give it all up. AIO, AIO-2, PUL, pockets, inserts, microfibre, charcoal bamboo, double gussets? Not to mention the fact that they didn’t exactly seem cheap and it seemed like I’d need someone to bring me a stash from the US. Add to that, the very specific washing instructions and specific detergents to use and yadayada. If you didn’t do that, you would face leakage issues and stink issues, or worse, diaper rash. Which was the very thing I was hoping to avoid in the first place. Truly mindboggling. 

And then, as it happened I landed upon a Facebook group of parents cloth diapering in India. I was thrilled to find out I could buy cloth diapers in India. And just order online. And then I actually began to read up on how disposable diapers just end up as landfill for a hundred-odd years. And I wasn’t a big fan of the gel-thingy inside the diapers either. So I was sold on the idea and ready to give cloth diapers a shot. Since A was still about 1.5 months old, I ordered a single newborn diaper cover which fastened with Velcro and decided to see how it goes. After prepping it, I tried it one afternoon. I put her regular cloth nappy and then the cover over it. And waited, convinced that it would leak when she peed. And boy, was I pleasantly surprised. Encouraged, I decided to try it for a late night nappy change another day. And when I woke up the next morning, I was amazed to see the sheet below was dry, while the nappy inside was wet. I was thrilled and finally convinced and ready to give it a serious shot. More on that, in another post. For now, I leave you with a pic of A in one of my favourite diapers ever! 

  

Leave a Reply

