h1

‘Cake’

March 28, 2016

For a baby who hasn’t been exposed to too much sugar yet, A has a big fat sweet tooth. And so, the other day when she was unwell and awoke from a nap and I was feeling indulgent, I asked her what she’d like for lunch. Pasta, or rice or x or y or z. She said her standard ‘beda’ to every option. So then I asked her what she would like instead.

Pat came the answer, ‘Cake?’

(In case you’re wondering, I didn’t go on to bake a cake – I’m not that indulgent!)

Anyway, I’ve been meaning to blog this Eggless carrot cake recipe that I’ve repeated with great success. I can’t quite recall where I came across it but I made it when she turned one year old and she loved it. As I went back to look at this recipe for a friend today, I realised that I’d scribbled ‘Baked for sis1’s birthday, between two feeding sessions of a 2.5 month-old A 🙂 I remember feeling thrilled at being able to manage some baking while I was still a new mother, trying to not get too overwhelmed. Being able to bake felt like I was still able to be in control, to an extent.  Looking back, it also reminds me how tiny she once was (and she still is!)


This is the best eggless recipe I’ve tried.

Eggless Carrot Cake

Ingredients:

Flour/maida – 1 cup

Butter/oil – 1/4 cup

Milk – 1/2 cup

Curd – 1/4 cup

Sugar – 2/3 cup

Vanilla extract – 1/2 tsp

Grated carrot – 1 cup (I used 3 medium carrots)

Baking soda – 1 tsp

Baking powder – 1 tsp

Cinnamon/nutmeg – for additional flavour

Nuts or raisins – optional – 1/4 cup

Method:

I love how simple this recipe is. Especially when I realise I don’t have to type out a long paragraph here. Mix these dry ingredients together – flour, baking powder, soda. Mix the wet ingredients together with sugar – oil, milk, curd, vanilla, sugar. Mix the the dry into the wet. Add carrots and whatever nuts you’re using. Bake in a pre-heated oven at 170 C for 30 minutes. I think this recipe should fit a 6 or 7 inch pan.

Go ahead, bake your cake and eat it too!

6 comments

  1. This is so doable! Thanks 🙂


    • Most welcome, Sue!


  2. I wanna try this! The cup is the standard 240-ml cup?


    • Standard is 200 ml, no? This was a 200 ml cup.


  3. Hmm… the standard cup in US recipes is 240 ml. I always double check because I know in India, the cups are 200 ml.


    • Omg I did not know this! I think I got this recipe off an Indian food blog, and the 200ml measure works for this. God, I’m now wondering what on earth I’ve been doing all along, and what I’ll do in future for all recipes from US-based blogs I follow!



Leave a Reply

