h1

Slowing down

February 19, 2016

It’s been a little over a month since I quit my job and nearly three weeks now since we moved to Hyderabad. While the first couple weeks of unemployment were slightly frenzied, the three weeks here have been slow to the point of being indulgent. I’ve distinctly felt more than once how much of a luxury this is, to be able to slow down and do nothing but spend time with A.

Before I quit, I had this fear that restlessness would creep in quickly and that I may not really enjoy the ‘break’. But unlike my maternity leave (that happened, yes), the age that A is in is a lot more fun, and I really enjoy the things I do with her  watch squirrels, spend an hour at the park doing nothing, blow bubbles in the balcony, get her to help me water the plants etc. I’m still figuring out how to get things (like cooking or small chores) done while she is around, but I think that is only a matter of time.

Of course, I’m also not fooling myself that this will last – I know myself fairly well 😀 But for now, I’m glad to have this chance to just be around A and really slow down and go with her lead and just be around her. And I’m glad I’m enjoying myself more than I thought I would.  I hope she feels the same way 🙂

Leave a Reply

