h1

 My go-to brownie recipes

November 23, 2015

Yes, I have two of them that I love! One needs chocolate (bar form) while the other calls for cocoa. I think I’d qualify as a brownie snob. The other day someone tried to pass off a spongy square of chocolate cake as a brownie. Not cool at all. 

This one is based on a recipe by Alice Merdich which seems fairly popular. And it’s super-simple: heat butter , sugar, cocoa powder over a double boiler. Once slightly cool, add eggs and flour. And then, bake. I discovered, by accident, that this recipe still turns out great if you (unintentionally) double the quantity of butter. Your colleagues don’t care and will polish it all off any way. Yup, yup, yup. Fudgy and dense and perfect. 

The other recipe, of course, is the world-famous ‘Katherine Hepburn’ brownies from Dorie Greenspan. It’s been a while since I made them, but I think I used this recipe the very first time I baked brownies. And remember being wow-ed. Again, a fairly simple recipe – melt chocolate and butter. Whisk in sugar, eggs and flour once slightly cool. Again, dense and fudge and delicious. 

If I have chocolate on hand, I’ll definitely choose the Dorie Greenspan recipe over the other one. But I must repeat, both make fantastic brownies. 

Bonus recipe: if you’re feeling extra-indulgent, try these cheesecake-swirled-brownies. Brilliant stuff!

  

2 comments

  1. No wonder this is your go to, it looks fantastic and scrumptious! Yumm!!


  2. It looks so delicious!



Leave a Reply

