h1

Reality check

November 12, 2015

Last morning, on my way back from my yoga class, I stopped to buy flowers to accompany the lamps to light up in the evening around the house. Deepavali time, so everything was over-priced. At first I enquired about the price of one ‘mozham’ (one arm-span?) of marigold flowers, and she quoted Rs 40. Then I decided against it and asked for a 100g of small roses, and loose chrysanthemums instead. And then I handed her a 500 rupee note. She said she did not have change. So I told her nevermind, I’ll come back with change later and buy the flowers.

“Next time kodi, madam” Give it to me next time.

Now I rarely buy flowers from her, this was probably only the second time ever. And yet, she saw that she had an opportunity to lose a customer, or acquire one, and chose the latter, though there was a small chance that I might take the flowers and never see her again.

I asked her if she was sure, and she nodded. And gently goaded me into buying the marigold string as well. (I’ll give it to you at Rs 30) And so I did, got suckered in and ended up spending Rs 130 instead of the original Rs 70 I would have.

I walked back, marvelling at her shrewd business sense, and to an extent, her belief that I would be back to pay her. And I found myself wondering about people still trusting people and some good being left in this world after all.

And then a car went whooshed past me through puddles, splashing me with rainwater, the driver not caring to slow down in the least.

It takes all kinds to make up this world.

Leave a Reply

