h1

X: X Chromosome

April 28, 2015

No, this isn’t going to be a biology lesson. But given how much I had to rack my brains for a bloggable word starting with W, I naturally looked to my support group for ideas, and when Sayesha suggested X chromosome, I decided to go with it. This post will be about that blessed second X chromosome that makes us women, women. It could well be G for Girls, but hey, G is an easier letter to work with!

I am the youngest of three sisters. And my two sisters have three daughters in all. So before lil A came along, the family composition (did I just say that?) was already skewed heavily in favour of women. I mean, 7:1. And when I was expecting A, I was convinced I’d have a boy simply because I so badly wanted to have a girl. Why did I badly want a girl?  I have absolutely no logical explanation for it. Except maybe, COS BABY GIRLS ARE SO CUTE. (Did you come here looking for wisdom? Shoo! Also, HAHA) Besides, I’ve always been around girls, so hey that’s another perfectly logical reason. 

Despite being really convinced I’d have a boy, I gleefully picked out a name for a girl a little ahead of my due date and S liked it too. As for a name for a boy, we could not find one that we mutually loved. So let’s just say, if we’d had a boy, we would have been doing some research after he’d arrived. See, girls are already so easy 😉

After a 3-day wait in the hospital, waiting, trying to go into labour, I had to go in for a C-section. When the doctor took her out, I was dying of curiosity to find out whether it was a girl or a boy. But they took her away to weigh her and check her vitals and as they took her away, I craned my neck to see if it was a boy or a girl. This little bum had conveniently bent her legs at her knees, so I couldn’t see! 

So I waited for them bring her to me. I looked at that little pink-grey human, gloriously naked, and asked the doctor if it was a girl or a boy. The doctor said, ‘Oh didn’t you hear, it’s a girl.’ I reached out and caressed her little head with my hand and called out to her, the name we had in mind.

And then began to cry :’)

Leave a Reply

