h1

M: Minimalism

April 15, 2015

Minimalism is an idea that fascinates me. If you know me well, you’re probably laughing right now. I’m the kind that embraces clutter a little too easily. That said, I’m also slowly beginning to enjoy the idea of consuming less (no, not food, of course). Or consuming consciously, at the very least. 

I wish I were one of those clean-as-you-go, put-things-where-they-belong at all times types, but heck no. That, and my inability to throw away things, (inherited from my Mom, I think) ensures that I have half a shelf filled with clothes I rarely wear, a drawer full of art supplies that I don’t have the heart to discard and a trunk full of odds and ends that I can’t decide what to do with. 

I recall a post by Leo Babuata, of Zenhabits, The True Cost of Stuff. He talks about how the true cost of owning something isn’t limited to what you pay to buy the item alone. You’ve to take into account the cost of making it, the cost of keeping it running (say a bike, or a car) and not to forget, the cost of maintaining it. You buy the most exquisitely carved sofa set, and then it gathers dust and you spend time simply keeping it clean. Or you run the risk of seeing the dust gather, and the guilt accumulate. 

Also, may I add, the guilt that comes from not doing enough justice to that thing you spent a bomb on? The worst of all costs, I think. 

While I’m nowhere close to being evolved enough to completely cut out unnecessary purchases (sarees and stoles I’ve been eyeing on itokri and Jaypore.com, bunch of baby clothes I added to the cart on hopscotch.in, yeah, don’t ask), I’m at least a bit more conscious. It helps that I’m more thrifty than extravagant, so I almost always think twice before I buy something, and rarely buy something because it appeals to me and I can afford to. Despite all this, my battle with clutter is neverending. Factor in a baby, with clothes and toys, and I’m doomed. 

But hey, being self-aware is great to start with. I’ve contemplated the idea of a minimalistic wardrobe, with maybe just 10-20 classic, good quality outfits that will last long. To do this, I need to first throw away a lot of stuff. And then spend more money to buy the said classic outfits. Instead, I will probably begin with my great shoe collection, of which I wear exactly four pairs – two on rotation for daily wear, one pair of travel shoes, and one pair of running/walking shoes. And yet, I have at least 4-5 more pairs which probably haven’t seen the light of the day in as many years. Yes, throwing those out, or giving them away maybe a good place to start. Once I’ve done away with them, I’m sure the guilt of not using them or doing justice will also go away.  

Just tell me how to silence the typically sensible, middle-class voices in my head first. “You cannot possibly giveaway those boots! So what if you wore them exactly once in the last six years, you paid $75 for those!!!! Money doesn’t grow on trees, you know.”

PS: I’ll keep you posted. Maybe before the A-Z challenge is over, I’ll make it a point to do away with those shoes?

5 comments

  1. Reblogged this on ranasramblings.


  2. I have battled with the hoarding for many years. Now my theory is simple, I throw away two pieces (shoes/outfits) for every new piece that I buy. It actually works pretty well.


    • I like the idea of throw away two for each new piece (as opposed to one). Will keep you posted!


  3. OK so I will take the Charles and Ketih shoes and everything else that you want to throw away. Clutter is like energy – it cannot be created nor destroyed. But it can only be transferred from one home to another 😉


    • The boots? As long as you don’t mind the heels and you’re sure you can wear them, I’ll trade you my boots for some limoncello and whatever else you want to get me. Can’t wait to see you 😉



Leave a Reply

