h1

F: Fooooooooood (Part one)

April 7, 2015

Yes, part two will come tonight, but for now, over to my friend Pizzadude, foodie partner-in-crime, and Mr. Nice Guy (for readily agreeing to do this guest post, without need for blackmail or arm-twisting, uh uh!). 

—-

The address ‘Block 66’ holds a very special place in my heart. It’s where I lived with two close friends of mine – Shub and S, a few years ago. Shub and I had been planning and strategising this for quite some time. Oh man, I still recall the excitement amongst us when the rental agent told us that we had got the house. New house, new area, geographically closer to friends and the beach (but quite a commute to work, ha!). The house in itself was quite big with minimal but tasteful interiors. Just the way I like it.

The most exciting part was of course the living together with Shub and S and all the things that she and I planned to cook. And boy, we did cook a lot! From making guacamole for the first time to a flambé like a pro. So I thought of making a short list of all the food (and drink) related memorable things that happened for the time that we lived there.

1. Apple Flambé

This was totally unintended. I am not even sure how it ended up as a flambé. All I remember now is that we chopped apples, put them in a saucepan, drenched it with some red wine (whose idea was it?), sugar and cinnamon and ta-dah! The mouth watering cooked apples slices with a hint of the cinnamon flavour along with a “sauce” of wine. Our very own version of a Glühwein.

2. Asian Noodle salad

We used to religiously follow this blog – The Pioneer woman. And I think Shub chanced upon this recipe. We knew we had to make it. We were a bit taken aback at the quantities of oil and garlic in the dressing, which we fine-tuned it for our liking. It came out wonderfully refreshing and I still make it whenever I can. Its my comfort salad.

3.  Guacamole

The first time we whipped it up, it ended up with too many onions! The polite guy that he is, S ate it without any complaints. Over time, I have improved a lot in making it and now my friend always insists that I make it for his birthday. 

4. Aloo bhujia

We didn’t quite make this. Instead this item was regularly purchased at the Indian stall near our block. Shub and S would practically inhale it. And then complain that they can’t control it. Once I hid a bunch of them in the freezer. Took them a couple of days to find it. I wonder if they still inhale it. (Shub: Hardly ever man, I guess the thrill was in the hunt :))

5. Bourbon whiskey spiked with Coca cola

Yes, you read that correctly. It was my birthday and my friends threw a kickass F.R.I.E.N.D.S themed surprise birthday party. As a drink, I was handed this large coffee mug filled with Jim Beam and spiked with Coca cola. I managed to actually finish it and complete the rest of the birthday party activities for the birthday boy. That was fun!

I have lived in a more luxurious house after moving out from Block 66. However I always say, Block 66 was the best house that I have stayed in all my life. Friends and fond memories are just irreplaceable. 

Shub & S, I missssss you two!! Let us be flatmates again sometime. And this time, I will *try* not to scream and run away when a flying cockroach makes a visit. 

One comment

  1. Awww! Loved the post! and Pizzadude,you’ve redeemed yourself with this post(what after skipping the challenge and all!). Can’t wait to try your asian noodle salad, the next time around!



Leave a Reply

