h1

Sunday evening art: Say Geese

January 21, 2013

Image

Alright, so far with my attempts, as soon as I finish painting, I invariably hate it. In the case of the one above, I was actually delighted. I felt exhilarated. Partly at having finished a painting that late (I started nearly 6pm, did two tonal sketches, then skyped with sis, then went out, got home at 9pm and went straight to the room and started painting) Delighted partly at the final result.

How often does it happen that I actually like what I paint as soon as I’m done with it?

Never.

So, it followed naturally, that this morning I woke up – and all I could see were the FLAWS. (They’re still all there gaping at me.)

Oh well.

But I’m still pretty thrilled. That I got down to it and finished it last night. That it looks decent if I squint and look at it from a afar (no really)

I dread the day I’ll look at something I’ve finished it, love it, and still think it’s pretty awesome the next morning. And the next, and the next.

So as long as I keep hating at least parts of whatever I paint, I’m okay.

Currently reading: 
Michael Pollan's In defense of food. (Just finished The Man Within. Liked)
Leave a Reply

